Seven Black Fridays

I noticed that quite a few Black Friday discounts on music software, hardware and virtual instruments were extended and are in fact still on. Here’s my thoughts on why this is the case.

It is obvious that the customers were stingy when it came to spending money. The lagging economy around the world is of course in the background, but then again music people are enthusiasts who rather spend a weekend eating noodles than refusing to buy something they really want.

So here’s my argument: the companies are right now out of touch with the customers. Native Instruments is currently trying to push its Maschine series forward with seven free soundpacks, but why upgrade, when even the latest software works in my Maschine Mikro, first introduced I believe four or five years ago. Were the new Maschine a self-sufficient wireless gadget I would already own it. And have you ever seen a video where people do something else on Maschine than boring 4/4 stock beat? Neither have I.

Second, the construction kit-based sample libraries are pretty much the thing a hobbyist is least interested in. For example, I enjoy turning the virtual knobs on my iPad using the Korg iMS-20 more than any VST synth on my workstation.

So how about a stress-free solution enabling to use those synths and sounds directly on my DAW? Doesn’t exist. Of course I understand that MIDI data and sound data don’t go hand in hand but yet I would think there were some kind of easy solution around. For the record, I have connected my iPad to my DAW and used app synths, and I won’t go through that mess again.

So yeah, there are things I am more than willing to pay for. If only someone was willing to manufacture them.

Leave a comment